22nd Annual Annie Award Nominees and Winners (1994)


Best Animated Feature

  • “Batman: Mask of the Phantasm” Warner Bros. Animation
  • “The Lion King” Walt Disney Pictures
  • “The Nightmare Before Christmas” Skellington/Touchstone

Best Animated Television Program

  • “Animaniacs” Warner Bros. Television Animation
  • “Batman: the Animated Series” Warner Bros. Television Animation
  • “The Critic” Gracie Films, Film Roman
  • “The Ren & Stimpy Show” Nickelodeon
  • “The Simpsons” Fox Television, Gracie Films, Film Roman

Best Animated Television Commercial

  • “Heart Rate” Kurtz & Friends
  • “Sax Man” Duck Soup Productions
  • “In The Bag” Will Vinton Studios
  • “Tango” R/Greenberg

Best Animated Home Video Release

  • “Urotsukidoji; Legend of the Overfiend” Anime 18
  • “The Lost World” Lumivision
  • “Mickey Mouse: The Black & White Years, Volume 1” Walt Disney Home Video
  • “The Return of Jafar” Walt Disney Home Video
  • “Animated Legend, Winsor McCay” Lumivision

Best Animated CD-Rom

  • “The Flintstones/Jetsons Timewarp” R/GA Interactive
  • “The Residents Freak Show” The Cryptic Corporation
  • “Rebel Assault” Lucas Arts Entertainment Co.
  • “Sam & Max Hit The Road” Lucas Arts Entertainment Co.


Best Individual Achievement for Creative Supervision in the Field of Animation

  • Mark Gustafson, Director, Mr. Resistor
  • Bob Camp, Creative Director, The Ren & Stimpy Show
  • Henry Selick, Director, The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Bruce Timm, Eric Radomski, Producers, Batman: the Animated Series
  • David Silverman, Producer, The Simpsons

Best Individual Achievement for Artisi5tc Excellence in the Field of Animation

  • Mark Henn, Supervising Animator, Young Simba, The Lion King
  • Scott F. Johnston, Artistic Supervisor, computer graphics, The Lion King
  • Andy Gaskill, Art Director, The Lion King
  • Deane Taylor, Art Director, The Nightmare Before Christmas
  • Paul Rudish, Art Director, Super Secret Squirrel

Best Individual Achievement for Story Contribution in the Field of Animation

  • Brenda Chapman, Head of Story, The Lion King
  • Paul Dini, Writer/Story Editor, Batman: the Animated Series
  • David Feiss, Story Artist, Flintstones Family Christmas
  • Gary Graham, Story Artist, Mighty Max
  • Iwao Takamoto, Story Artist, Hollyrock-A-Bye Baby

Best Achievement for Voice Acting

  • Gregg Berger, Duckman
  • Mark Hamill, Batman: the Animated Series
  • Jeremy Irons, The Lion King
  • Frank Welker, Animaniacs
  • Billy West, The Ren & Stimpy Show


Winsor McCay Award

  • Jean Vander Pyl
  • Ed Benedict
  • Arthur Davis

Certificate of Merit

  • Chris Craig
  • Mike Gribble & Craig "Spike" Decker
  • Milton Knight
  • Rita Street
  • Kathy Richardson
  • Bryan Mon